7 WFH HABITS

Nadia Fernandez
3 min readNov 2, 2020

Do you feel like a slump while working from home? Because I do.

I’ve found myself, once again, being cooked up within the four walls of my home. With the rising number of COVID-19 cases in Malaysia, we are once again told to stay at home unless it is absolutely necessary to leave.

While I enjoy staying home, I found it particularly difficult to maintain a healthy work-life balance. Yes, working from home is certainly more cost and time effective however, it has taken a toll on me and if I’m honest, the quality of my work.

The past week, instead of wallowing in my ineffectiveness and procrastination, I decided to take charge and make slight changes to my daily routine.

1. Go to bed early

Honestly, I’m a bit of an aunty when it comes to my bedtime. I go to bed at 10 p.m. (latest) and I’m up at 5 a.m. the next morning to get ready for work. However, during the lockdown, I took it lightly and found myself waking up just in time for work. It has made me miss my morning routine and as much as I’ve gotten much more sleep, I’ve also fallen trap to a mundane cycle.

So, instead of disrupting your schedule, why not go to bed early and get up the same time as you would if you had to travel to work. It helps recalibrate your brain into compartmentalizing your work life balance.

2. Move your body

Before starting your grind, make sure to fit in at least 30 minutes of home workout. It can range from yoga stretches to vigorous HIIT workouts; whatever floats your boat. Just make sure to do it before you start work.

When you work out, your body releases a chemical called endorphins. Endorphins are known to trigger a positive feeling in the body which can help fuel your day.

3. Take a cold shower

Now that you have worked out and are all sweaty, it’s time to take a cold ass shower. I know it can be excruciating for some (me included) but I’ve found that cold showers wake my body up like nothing else can. It’s refreshing and it helps keep you focused throughout the day.

4. Meal prep

Remember how you used to pack food for lunch before the lockdown? Do the same now. Don’t waste time cooking something up during lunch time because it’ll disrupt your momentum and you’ll take longer than an hour (trust me on this, been there done that).

5. House chores is a NO-NO

I know it’s easy to fall trap into the whole ‘I need a clean working space, so I got to start spring cleaning’ mindset but don’t. If you really need to spring clean, do it over the weekend. Spring cleaning is an activity that can eat into your time for hours on end.

6. Follow the 90–20 rule

If you’re a workaholic or if you’re put in a situation where you had to rush a report, you’ll know that it’s tempting to continuously sit on your chair for hours. Studies have shown that sitting for long hours can lead to pulmonary embolism i.e. a blood clot. Try working for 90 minutes and give yourself 20 minutes to stretch, walk around, get yourself more water, or make a cup of green tea. This will give your body the time to recuperate and refocus your attention span.

7. Do NOT work on your bed

If you’re in a position where you have to work from home, make sure you set up a separate working space. From my experience, working from your bed can lead to troubled sleeping habits. Why, you ask? Because when you work on your bed, your mind gets used to the idea that your bed is also a place for work, instead of what it is intended for — sleep and relaxation.

Working from home is arguably more stressful than working from an office. This is especially so for working parents as working from home means additional responsibilities — children. If there’s anything this pandemic has taught us as a race is that no matter the adversity, we always find ways to adapt to our surroundings.

The best is all we can do and we’re all doing our best.

Chin up, walk tall.

--

--

Nadia Fernandez

Writing inconsistently about everything that infuriates me or makes me uncomfortable.